Are you aware that statistics show that 1 out of every 6 males is sexually assaulted prior to the age of 16, but that number could be much higher than we realize? Why? Tragically, many boys and men keep their abuse a secret due to shame and fear.

Although it may be difficult and potentially triggering to address this issue, it is necessary to discuss this topic in order to protect children from being victims of sexual abuse.

On the next Empower Hour Dr. Kelli Palfy, registered psychologist and trained trauma therapist, joins Tanya Gaw to discuss the hidden epidemic of sexually abused males. Dr. Palfy is also retired from the RCMP, the author of four books and has created a six-part video series on this topic – see the Rumble video below.

Dr. Palfy first became aware of males as victims of sexual abuse when she worked with the Child Exploitation Unit of the RCMP in the early 2000s. She has since made it her goal to become an advocate for boys, young men and adult men who are too ashamed to speak up about the abuse they’ve experienced and thus suffer the consequences of staying silent. Learn more about our guest and Share the Empower HERE.

Wednesday January 17, 2023 – Zoom Doors open at 4:30pm PST/7:30pm EST Register in Advance

A4C Orientation – 4:30pm PST. Tanya’s update – 4:45pm PST. Empower Hour guest segment 5pm PST/8pm EST.

 

Six-Part Series in One

 

 

 

SHARE